18 Amazing Things

This school year, my partner Regina and I facilitated an 8-month long cohort of math educators called Math Rocks. You can read about our first two days together in July here and here. I also wrote this post if you want a peek into our learning during the school year.

As our time together drew to a close, I asked each participant to write a blog post reflecting on Math Rocks. Today I went back through their reflections to pull out snippets to share to encourage other teachers in our district to apply for next year’s cohort. You can read more snippets from their reflections here.

Deb

Can I just tell you how amazing it is to read this? In my first few years of teaching, the path of my career and my understanding of math were steered in entirely new directions when I took part in an extended PD experience. I can’t express to you how much it means to me to be in a position now where I’m able to learn with and from teachers on their own journeys through teaching and math. I couldn’t be happier.

2 thoughts on “18 Amazing Things

  1. Joe Schwartz

    Brian, Thanks for sharing your experience. It’s a model of what meaningful PD should look like, and the responses and reflections of the participants are proof of that. I hope that you get the chance to visit their classrooms and see the fruits of your labor in action!
    When do you find time to meet with the cohort? Is it before or after school, or are the participants taken off-line during all or part of a normal school day?

    Reply
    1. bstockus Post author

      Hey, Joe! I just got to visit one of their classrooms last week, and it was so heart-warming to see her in action. So much so, I blogged about it! 🙂

      We meet 12 times throughout the year – two full days in the summer (12 hours total), nine sessions after school roughly every other Thursday September through January (1.5 hours each), and one half-day reflection and celebration session in February.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

