It’s My Birthday, And I’ll Blog If I Want To

It really is my birthday. Whereas the argument could be made that there are worse Mondays than the one I shared yesterday, no one can dispute that today is my birthday, nor the fact that I have chosen to blog.

This blogging challenge has been an amazing experience for getting me to write more on my blog. I haven’t really planned too much about what I’m going to write about. I basically let my mood take me each time I sit down at my computer. As a result, I’ve been surprised by some of the topics I’ve gravitated towards as well as the amount of writing I’ve ended up doing.

The drawback is that it’s been somewhat intellectually and emotionally draining. I still have several important topics (to me at least) that I want to touch on, but I’ve been feeling a bit wiped out the past few days. It doesn’t help that my writing has taken away from my usual leisure time and led to some later than usual nights. Thankfully my husband has been supportive despite not getting to spend as much time with me as usual. He’s the best.

So what to write about today? A friend of mine talked at lunch today about coming up with a 5 year plan. I’ve entertained the thought of a 5 year plan before, but I’ve never set pen to paper. However, seeing as it’s my birthday, it’s a perfect time to reflect on where I’ve been, where I am, and where I’d like to go.

In this post, I’m going to stick to mostly talking about where I’d like to go because at some point tonight I’d like to go to bed.

For the past year or so I’ve been thinking about how I’d like to go back to public education at some point in the future. So why not envision how that would work in the next five years?

While I would love to be an instructional coach for a year or two, I think the job I’d like to work towards is becoming a principal. The funny thing is when I was a teacher, I couldn’t fathom becoming a principal. It sounded terrible. You didn’t get to teach kids, and you had to deal with all the discipline issues and parent issues that come up every day. Why would anyone subject themselves to that?

But over the past 5 years, my views have changed. (This is part of the “where I’ve been” that I’m going to gloss over in this post tonight.) Going back to teaching, while satisfying in many ways, would be going back to what I’ve already done. Going back to become a principal feels like moving forward. I’ve realized that I want a role that is larger than just one classroom. I want to help steer the ship of an entire school. It terrifies me in some ways, and I know it would be challenging, but that’s what I’m drawn to. Why do something easy?

It’s a good thing this is a 5 year plan, because I can’t start right away. My husband is currently in school and has about another year left. The earliest I could start a principal certification program would be fall of 2015. That gives me a year to find a program and submit an application.

I’m thinking of enrolling in the program at Texas State University. Because I already have a Master’s degree, they’ll let me take a lighter course load to get my certification. As much as I think I would learn a lot in any class I would take, I will gladly accept a shorter program if it saves me money. College tuition is not cheap!

If I’m lucky, the program will only take me up to 2 years. That puts me at 3 years into my plan. So then I guess those last two years I could be working my first job as an assistant principal somewhere?

It all sounds so easy! I love painting my future in broad strokes. There are plenty of small details in there that I need to work out, but that’s the rough plan I have in my head. The important thing will be refining it sooner rather than later. The last thing I want is to “all of a sudden” be turning 42 five years from now wondering when I’m finally going to make a clear plan for my future. Considering how quickly time flies the older I get, the more that’s a real possibility and not just a joke.

19/30

2 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday, And I’ll Blog If I Want To

  1. carloliwitter

    Happy birthday! And if you’re going to do the principal thing, start visiting other schools as much as you can now. You can build your contacts and broaden your perspective about the little things schools do in all the various models all around the world.

    Reply
    1. bstockus Post author

      Thanks for the advice! I have seen a lot of variety in school environments and management styles in schools around Austin. I’ve worked in 3 districts and a total of 6 schools, but I feel like I would definitely learn a lot visiting schools in other states. I’ve visited several elementary school in NYC for work and that was an eye opening experience. I’ll have to see if I can do visits in other places in the next couple of years. Thanks again for the advice!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

